IT Application Implementations Acronyms

Below are a list of Acronyms used in application implementations

What is SIT?
SIT stands for System Integration Testing. It is a type of software testing that evaluates the compatibility and interaction between different software modules or systems in a larger application or system.

The purpose of SIT is to identify defects and ensure that all the individual components of the system work together as expected. This testing is performed after unit testing and before user acceptance testing (UAT) to ensure that the system is working as intended before it is deployed to the user or customer.

During SIT, the individual software modules or subsystems are integrated and tested as a group to ensure that they work together seamlessly. It involves testing interfaces, data flow, and communication between different modules to identify and resolve any issues.

The SIT process includes test planning, test case development, test execution, and defect tracking. The goal of SIT is to ensure that all the components of the system are properly integrated, and any defects are identified and resolved before moving on to the next phase of testing.
What is UAT?

YUAT stands for User Acceptance Testing. It is the process of testing a software application or system to ensure that it meets the requirements of its intended users and is ready for release.

During UAT, a group of representative end-users or stakeholders are invited to test the software to verify that it meets their needs, expectations, and business requirements. The users perform a set of test scenarios and provide feedback to the development team regarding any issues, bugs, or inconsistencies they encounter.

The purpose of UAT is to ensure that the software is fit for purpose and that it meets the expectations of the users. It is usually the final stage of testing before the software is released into production.

What is a test environment?
A test environment is a setup that is used to perform software testing. It consists of the hardware, software, and network configurations that are necessary to execute tests on a software application or system.

The test environment can be a separate physical or virtual environment that is designed to mimic the production environment where the software will eventually run. The purpose of the test environment is to isolate the testing activities from the live environment to prevent any negative impacts on the production system.

A test environment should ideally match the production environment as closely as possible, including hardware configurations, operating systems, databases, network configurations, and other dependencies. This allows testers to replicate issues and test scenarios in a controlled environment and identify any potential problems before deploying the software to production.

A typical test environment may include tools for test management, defect tracking, test automation, and other testing-related activities. It is important to ensure that the test environment is properly set up and maintained to ensure the accuracy and effectiveness of the testing process.

What is the Essential Eight
The Essential Eight is a set of cybersecurity controls recommended by the Australian Signals Directorate (ASD) to help organizations protect their systems and networks from cyber threats. The Essential Eight consists of eight mitigation strategies that can significantly reduce the risk of cyberattacks.

An Essential 8 audit involves assessing an organization's cybersecurity posture against these eight mitigation strategies to determine whether they have implemented adequate controls to address cyber threats effectively. The audit typically involves reviewing the organization's policies, procedures, and technical controls to identify any weaknesses or gaps that need to be addressed to improve the organization's overall security posture.

The eight mitigation strategies covered in the Essential Eight are:

Application whitelisting
Patching applications and operating systems
Configuring Microsoft Office macro settings
Restricting administrative privileges
Using multi-factor authentication
Backing up data regularly
Enabling email filtering
Blocking access to malicious websites

An Essential 8 audit is typically conducted by THREEDIGITAL cybersecurity professionals who have experience in evaluating an organization's security posture and can recommend remediation actions to mitigate identified risks.